Solar Energy Industries Association

The Solar Energy Industries Association ( SEIA ), established in 1974, is a national non-profit trade association of the solar-energy industry in the United States . [1]

SEIA is a 501 (c) 6 non-profit trade association. SEIA’s sister organization, The Solar Foundation, has 501 (c) 3 non-profit charitable organization, oversees policy-driven research and development education and outreach programs to promote the further development of solar energy in the US [2]

The association supports the extension of a 30 percent federal solar investment tax credit for eight years. [3]

With the recent high flow of green jobs in the solar industry, SEIA maintains a resource for those looking for solar jobs. [4] The Harvard Business Review [5] that the solar industry could absorb all of the jobs lost to the industry . Solar already employed more people than the entire US coal industry.

Current Board of Directors [6]

Executive Committee

  • SEIA Board Chair – Nat Kreamer, Spruce
  • SEIA Board Vice Chair – Tom Starrs, SunPower Corporation
  • Treasurer – Laura Stern, Nautilus Solar
  • Secretary – Michael Maulick, SunLink Corporation
  • President – Abigail Ross Hopper, SEIA
  • Elected Committeemen
    • Tony Clifford, Standard Solar
    • Craig Cornelius, NRG Energy
    • Ryan Creamer, sPower
    • Steve Trenholm, E.ON North America
  • Federal Policy Committee Chair – Scott Hennessey, SolarCity
  • State Policy Committee Chair – Thomas Plagemann, Vivant Solar

Chairs Division

  • Distributed Generation – Tony Clifford, Standard Solar
  • Solar Heating and Cooling – Ed Murray, Aztec Solar
  • Solar Services and Consumers – Matthew Meares, Sunworks NC LLC
  • Utility-Scale Solar Power – Fred Morse, Morse Associates

Board At-Large

  • Craig Cornelius, NRG Energy
  • Ryan Creamer, sPower
  • Jeff Dorety, Trina Solar
  • Scott Hennessey, SolarCity
  • Anne Hoskins, Sunrun, Inc.
  • Martin Hermann, 8minutenergy Renewables
  • George Hershman, Swinerton Renewable Energy
  • Stephen Jones, Blattner Energy
  • Nat Kreamer, Spruce
  • Daniel Laure, Total New Energies USA
  • Michael Maulick, SunLink Corporation
  • Matthew McGovern, Cypress Creek Renewables
  • Ryan Pfaff, EDF Renewable Energy
  • Thomas Plagemann, Vivint Solar
  • Dan Shugar, NEXTracker
  • Tom Starrs, SunPower Corporation
  • Jeremy Susac, SunStreet Energy Group
  • Steve Trenholm, E.ON North America
  • Darren Van’t Hof, US Bancorp
  • Kathleen Weiss, First Solar, Inc.
  • Jim Yowan, Mortenson Construction
  • Scott Zajac, Rockwood Group
  • David Zwillinger, DE Shaw

Board Elected

  • Mike Hall, Borrego Solar
  • Yuri Horwitz, Sol Systems
  • Jeff Wolfe, EnergySage
  • Andrew Savage, Savage Solar, LLC
  • Laura Stern, Nautilus Solar Energy

Honorary Members

  • Arno Harris – Chairman Emeritus
  • Steve Hogan

State SEIA Affiliate Representative

  • Vacant

Official State Affiliates [7]

  • Arizona Solar Energy Industries Association (AriSEIA)
  • Mid Atlantic Solar Energy Industries Association (MSEIA)
  • California Solar Energy Industries Association (CALSIEA)
  • Missouri Solar Energy Industries Association (MOSEIA)
  • Colorado Solar Energy Industries Association (COSEIA)
  • New York Solar Energy Industries Association (NYSEIA)
  • Oregon Solar Energy Industries Association (OSEIA)
  • Georgia Solar Energy Industries Association (GeorgiaSEIA)
  • Tennessee Solar Energy Industries Association (TenneSEIA)
  • Gulf States Renewable Energy Industries Association (GSREIA)
  • Texas Renewable Energy Industries Association (TREIA)
  • Hawaii Solar Energy Association (HSEA)
  • Wisconsin Solar Energy Industries Association (WiSEIA)


  1. Jump up^ “SEIA Homepage” . Retrieved 2015-03-26 .
  2. Jump up^ “SEIA About Page” .
  3. Jump up^ “SEIA Launches New Campaign to Extend Solar Investment Tax Credit”. Retrieved 2015-03-26 .
  4. Jump up^
  5. Jump up^
  6. Jump up^ “Executive Committee and Board of Directors” . SEIA . Retrieved 2017-04-07 .
  7. Jump up^ “Official State Affiliates” . SEIA . Retrieved 2017-04-07 .

About the author


View all posts